Georgia Bulletin

The Newspaper of the Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta

Photo by Jackie Holcombe
Archbishop Gregory J. Hartmayer, right, was joined by Bishop Joel M. Konzen, second row at right, and Bishop Bernard E. Shlesinger III, left, in congratulating the 2022 Catholic Schools Week honorees from each school. Those recognized for the honor were selected by their peers.


Catholic Schools Week honorees make indelible impressions 

By GEORGIA BULLETIN STAFF | Published February 3, 2022

ATLANTA—Catholic schools in the Archdiocese of Atlanta celebrated Catholic Schools Week Jan. 30-Feb. 5, as part of a national observance highlighting their academic and community contributions. 

Schools celebrated with special Masses, spelling and religion bees, as well as family events. 

As part of the annual celebration, one staff member from each Catholic school is recognized as an outstanding employee of the year, as well as a principal of the year and parish preschool director of the year. The honorees are selected by their peers. 

Archbishop Gregory J.Hartmayer, OFM Conv., Bishop Joel M. Konzen, SM, and Bishop Bernard E. Shlesinger III celebrated a Mass in honor of the recognized employees Jan. 29 at St. Catherine of Siena Church, Kennesaw. 

The Catholic Schools Week employees of the year awards on display prior to the Jan. 29 Mass in Kennesaw. Photo by Jackie Holcombe

On the first day of Catholic Schools Week, Superintendent of Schools Hal Plummer commended the honorees for their “outstanding work in the educational apostolate” of the archdiocese. 

“The witness of your life and work is placing an indelible impression on the Catholic schools in which you serve. In an extraordinary way, your example is assisting your school in preparing students for success in life, not just on final exams, and–more importantly–how to bring into the world a living and active faith,” said Plummer. 

The 2021-2022 honorees from the 18 archdiocesan and six independent Catholic schools are: 

Archdiocesan Catholic Schools 

Maureen Fujihira, Blessed Trinity High School, Roswell 

Melanie Anderson, Christ the King School, Atlanta 

Michele Baumgarth, Holy Redeemer School, Johns Creek 

Brandy Graham, Immaculate Heart of Mary School, Atlanta 

Kiesha Porter, Our Lady of Mercy High School, Fayetteville 

Mary Wynn, Our Lady of the Assumption School, Atlanta 

Kathy Schenck, Our Lady of Victory School, Tyrone 

Erin Molter, Queen of Angels School, Roswell 

Lindsay Andreozzi, St. Catherine of Siena School, Kennesaw 

Angelle Buckley, St. John Neumann Regional School, Lilburn 

Ashley Lois Broadwater, St. John the Evangelist School, Hapeville 

Alexandria Candelario, St. Joseph Parish School, Athens 

Roseanne Cornejo, St. Joseph School, Marietta 

Lisa Wenke, St. Jude the Apostle School, Atlanta 

Towers Maddox, St. Mary’s School, Rome 

Thinh Dinh, St. Peter Claver Regional School, Decatur 

Karen Travers, St. Pius X High School, Atlanta 

Yemane Y. Ghidey, St. Thomas More School, Decatur 

Principal of the Year Cathy Lancaster of Blessed Trinity High School, Roswell, is congratulated by Archbishop Gregory J. Hartmayer, OFM Conv., left, and Hal Plummer, superintendent of schools, right. The archbishop celebrated Mass for the honorees at St. Catherine of Siena Church, Kennesaw, on Jan. 29. Photo by Jackie Holcombe

The Preschool Director of the Year is Debbie Kehoe of Our Lady of the Assumption Parish Preschool. 

The Principal of the Year is Cathy Lancaster of Blessed Trinity High School.  

Independent Catholic Schools 

Jonathan Pennacchia, SJ, Cristo Rey Atlanta Jesuit High School 

Theresa Sequeira, Holy Spirit Preparatory School, Atlanta 

Elizabeth M. Edwards, Marist School, Atlanta 

Bonnie Best, Monsignor Donovan Catholic High School, Athens 

Erin Finneran, Notre Dame Academy, Duluth. 

Emily Roman, Pinecrest Academy, Cumming 

Meet two of this year’s honorees, Rosanne Cornejo and Ashley Broadwater.