Georgia Bulletin

The Newspaper of the Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta


Marist Literary Team Wins State Championship

Published March 2, 2005

Marist School received the first Ray Horne Award given by the Georgia High School Association for outstanding performance in literary events in 2004-2005. The award, which will be given annually, is given to the school in each classification earning the most combined points in State Debate, State One-Act Play and State Literary competitions. Marist ranked first in the AAAA team category, earning the 2004-2005 state championship.

Marist students also excelled in individual categories. In extemporaneous speaking, senior Jonathan Hoffman won first place among boys, while senior Emmarie Huetteman earned second place among girls. Senior Charlie Nagle received second place in boys essays, while junior Emily Nowell was awarded second place in girls solos. Junior Connor Magill received fourth place in spelling by boys.

Literary Team faculty advisors include Tracy Kaminer (literary), Stefanie Stadler (one-act play) and Joey Tavery (debate).