Georgia Bulletin

The Newspaper of the Catholic Archdiocese of Atlanta

The Our Lady of Lourdes basketball team poses with their championship trophy. The team members include (l-r) league Most Valuable Player Bryan Hubbard, Sarran Marshall, team captain Kevin Rogers, John Waters, Derrick Rogers and John Wallace. Photo Courtesy of the Catholic Men's Basketball League


Catholic Men’s League Crowns 2010 Champion

By MICHAEL ALEXANDER, Staff Photographer | Published November 25, 2010

The Catholic Men’s Basketball League ended its fourth season of play Nov. 14. The final game of the season was a showdown between Our Lady of Lourdes, Atlanta, and St. Mary Magdalene, Newnan. The teams were tied at 28 at halftime, but in the end Lourdes defeated St Mary Magdalene, 76-52. The Lourdes team, champions for the fourth consecutive year, has compiled 37 wins and three losses since the league began.

Catholic Men’s Basketball League commissioner Jim Winkler, right center, poses with league Most Valuable player Bryan Hubbard, left center, and All League Team members (l-r) Lee Spoor of St. Theresa of the Child Jesus, Kevin Keysar of Holy Trinity, Mark Weber of St. Mary Magdalene and Jamie Vickers of Our Lady of Mercy. Photo Courtesy of the Catholic Men’s Basketball League

Our Lady of Mercy, Fayetteville, won the earlier game after a 46-33 victory over Holy Trinity, Peachtree City. Our Lady of Lourdes and Our Lady of Mercy finished with identical records, and the two teams split their season series, but Lourdes won the season scoring title with 591 total points versus 482 for Our Lady of Mercy against all opponents.

Bryan Hubbard of Our Lady of Lourdes was named the league Most Valuable Player. His teammate and team captain Kevin Rogers is 254 games from his Brett Farve-like streak. Rogers has a consecutive game streak of 40, which means he has not missed a game in four years.